This was the scene at the top of Station Approach 1928. The pretty house has gone now and has been replaced by the Post Office. Geering & Colyer, whose office was on the opposite side of the street facing their large advertising board that was a familiar sight to all those that travelled by bus or train, have gone. Vidler & Co., their building can be seen on the left, are gone.
The large white gate, one of a pair used to close the road when the last train had left is also gone, even the imposing pillars are no longer there.
What about the car? A sporty two seater. It must have caused quite a stir in 1928 when most people travelled by bus or train and very few in motor cars. Do any of our readers know who it belonged to? We enlarged the picture to discover the registration number but were still unable to make it out. Did it belong to the son of a local farmer or tradesman?
These were the days when Rye could boast regular train and bus services, there were double railway lines to Hastings and Ashford, East Kent (red) and Maidstone & District (green buses) had their own depos’ and offices in the town and ran services to Hastings, Ashford, Maidstone etc. Dengates Buses, based at Beckley, ran services to Beckleyand other villages. Timetables for trains are pasted on the gate and the pillars.
Rye had a shunting yard and a goods shed and there was a spur line running right into the Cattle Market where sheep and cattle were unloaded for auction at the weekly market which was held on a Wednesday.
What else can we tell you about the photograph? The attractive young woman walking across the road? Oh yes! That’s Betty Edwards who married Morris Neeves the butcher’s son.
From the November 2004 issue of “Rye’s Own”
All articles, photographs and drawings on this web site are World Copyright Protected. No reproduction for publication without prior arrangement. © World Copyright 2015 Cinque Ports Magazines Rye Ltd., Guinea Hall Lodge Sellindge TN25 6EG