Rye Wheeler’s Ladies Dominate Kent 12 Hour Women’s Championship

Raise your glasses and toast some of the best women cyclists the Rye Club has ever produced. Emma Cutler, Rebecca Wilson and Julie Bryant were placed first, second and third in the gruelling Kent Cycling Association’s 12 Hour Time Trial Championship held on Kent roads on Sunday 2 September.

Emma, who was second in the Women’s National Mountain Bike Championship in Scotland at Easter copes easily with long distance road rides and recorded a fine 214.65 miles (despite a fifteen minute spell off course) to win in fine style from Rebecca’s 194.24 miles and Julie’s amazing 192.08 mile effort in her first long distance event. There were fine rides by two other Rye ladies, Amber King 189.42 miles for fourth place in the event and Jacqui Maxted recorded 179.96 miles, demonstrated the strength in depth of the Rye riders. Hazel Fulkner also rode for Rye but was unfortunate enough to have an early fall and despite riding on for almost 100 miles was forced to abandon.

The Rye Wheelers are becoming known throughout Britain for fielding quality lady riders in long distance events. Emma Cutler is the third in line of Rye Wheeler members to become the KCA 12 Hour Champion. Emma follows Liz King (2007) and Bronwen Ewing (2008 & 2009) Bronwen also won the National 24 Hour in 2011.

Emma Cutler is also the East Sussex Cycling Association’s 100 Mile Champion. Some of the Rye ladies now have their eye on the National 24 Hour Championship which is returning to Sussex roads for the 2014 season. Can one of these tough young women emulate Bronwen’s 2011 success .


Emma Cutler 214..65 miles

Rebecca Wilson 194.24 miles

Julie Bryant 192.08 miles

Amber King 186.91 miles

Jacquie Maxted 171.96 miles

Hazel Fulkner D.N.F

The Rye Wheelers male competitors in the KCA 12 Hour went with high hopes of winning the team Championship. It was not to be however as Nick Wilson and Steve Gooch were forced to withdraw on what was a hard day in the wind.

Mark Amon, the reigning Rye Wheelers Champion retained the Rye Wheeler’s Club Championship with 225 miles, eight miles less than last year, reflecting the difficult conditions. Pip Carey was second (199miles) and Jim Hollands (195 miles) third.

The overall winner and KCA Champion for 2012 was Andy Miles of VC Elan (265 miles). His club also won the Team Championship.

Rye Wheelers Men’s 12 Hour Championship

1. Mark Amon 225 miles

2. Pip Carey 199 miles

3. Jim Hollands 195 miles

4. Tony Holman 192 5.

5. Granville Bantick 164

6. Steve Binger 151

Steve Gooch DNF

Nick Wilson DNF

From the October 2012

All articles, photographs and drawings on this web site are World Copyright Protected. No reproduction for publication without prior arrangement. © World Copyright 2016 Cinque Ports Magazines Rye Ltd., Guinea Hall Lodge Sellindge TN25 6EG