Thornton Prize Night At The Ship

Members of the Hythe based Thornton Road Cycling Club met at The Shi p I nn, Dymchurch for their Annual Prize Presentation Night on Saturday 12 April.

Gordon Davis introduced Rye Wheeler Jon Ashdown from New Romney, who started cycling way back in 1955. Jon comes from a cycling family, his uncles raced at Rye Sports on the grass track before the war. Jon and his brothers Dave & Edward, carried on the tradition as soon as they were old enough. 2013 Trophy winners were :- 15 Miles Jack Bryant; 25 Miles Donald Houghton; 30 Miles Brian Patterson; 50 Miles Donald Houghton; 100 Miles Michael Pumphrey; 12 Hours Michael Pumphrey; 24 Hours Michael Pumphrey; 10 Mile Junior Jack Bryant; Ladies 10 Mile Louise Laker; Massed Start Trophy Phil Stone; Club Run Champion Russ Mason; ; MalMarshals Trophycolm Strictland; Junior Massed Start Trophy Jack Bryant; Best All Rounder Trophy Russ Mason: Thornton Challenge Cup Roy & Jane White; Alex Deburgh Trophy for 24 Hours shared between Russ Mason and Michael Pumphrey: Barry Shoebridge Tourist Trophy John and Tess Laker.

Gordon Davis also announced that the 2013 Long Distance Fellowship BAR National Team Championship over 100 Miles, 12 Hours and Twenty Four Hours, was won by Thornton Road, a f ine achievement for the club from Romney Marsh.

Rye’s Own May 2014

All articles, photographs and drawings on this web site are World Copyright Protected. No reproduction for publication without prior arrangement.