Rye Cyclists Take New Year Honours

Rye Wheelers started the year in style with individual wins in both men’s and women’s events. Wheeler of the Wheelers took the honours with a win over very formidible opposition, even beating Shaun Yates, the former Tour de France Yellow Jersey holder, by over a minute. Dave is now considered as one of the best riders in the Kent / Sussex area, and is still improving.

Bronwen Ewing seems to be the Dave Wheeler of women’s cycling, taking the best ladies prize by over three minutes.

Dave Wheeler, Steve Gooch and Barry Goodsell rounded off a great day by

Wheeler of the Wheelers
Wheeler of the Wheelers

winning the team event, beating Barry Goodsell and sponsored Elan V C and In Gear, quite an achievement.

It did not all end there, Rebecca Wilson was second to Bronwen in the scratch race but won the handicap, improving her personal best by 19 seconds, and Rebecca Wilson took the fourth place award in the Veterans time standard section. Special mention must also be made of Garry Kings excellent novice ride.

1st Dave Wheeler 23.06 Rye Wheelers 2nd Mike Piper 23.41 – San Fairy Ann =3rd Conall Yates 24.10 – In Gear =3rd Stephen Berry 24.10 – San Fairy Ann


1st lady Bronwen Ewing 26.55 – Rye Wheelers Rebecca Wilson 32.17 – Rye.


1st Shay Giles +4.38 – VC Elan 2nd David Williams +4.15 – Kingsnorth 3rd Andy Burrows +3.17 – Thanet 4th Bob Giles +2.58 – Rye


1st Rebecca Wilson -0.19 – Rye


Rye & District 1.13.11 ( Dave Wheeler, Steve Gooch, Barry Goodsell )


Dave Wheeler 23.06 Steve Gooch 24.31 Barry Goodsell 25.34 Gary King 26.18 Bronwen Ewing 26.55 Bob Giles 27.18 Nick Wilson 27.26 Andrew Croft 29.47 Mark Amon 31.25 Rebecca Wilson 32.17 Jim Hollands 35.10

Rye’s Own February 2010

All articles, photographs and drawings on this web site are World Copyright Protected. No reproduction for publication without prior arrangement. © World Copyright 2015 Cinque Ports Magazines Rye Ltd., Guinea Hall Lodge Sellindge TN25 6EG